Enjoy these great photos of the Zuelke Building. Photos by Saylea Photography
History of the Zuelke Building
The Zuelke building built in the 1850's and the building became known as the Masonic Temple. This building was destroyed by fire in 1875 and the lot stood empty for five years. In 1880, a 3 story structure was built which housed a bank, hardware store, offices and the Masonic Temple rooms.
Mr. Zuelke bought the building in 1926, moved his music store in and remodeled the building only to have it burn down in 1928.
In May 1929, Mr. Zuelke began construction on the first seven floors of the present day Zuelke Building. Because of the previous fires, Mr. Zuelke became determined to build a fireproof building. He built the seven story building of steel, stone, marble, and brass which was completed in 1931.
The marble that lines the walls of the lobby and mezzanine came from Eastern Tennessee, near Knoxville. This marble was originally destined for an Appleton church which could not pay. Mr. Zuelke bought it for his building. This purchase also included light fixtures and other decorations that give the Zuelke Building it's unique style.
There are many fossils found in the marble. Particularly the large fossil close to the elevator.
Visit the Zuelke Building at 103 W. College Ave.